Betfred Cup seedings announced

The seedings for the Betfred Cup have been announced this afternoon ahead of Friday’s draw, with Saints among the top seeds in the North section.

The club joins Hearts, Dundee and Ross County as first seeds, and will be drawn with one of Dundee United, Dunfermline Athletic, Inverness Caledonian Thistle or Falkirk, with all of these clubs in the second pot of seeds.

The group will be concluded with three teams from the remaining sides in the North section. Full details of the seedings can be found below.

The group stage draw will be conducted live on BT Sport 2 this Friday at 6:30PM. The draw will produce eight groups of five teams – four in the North section, and four in the South section. The five match dates are as follows; 14 July, 18 July, 21 July, 25 July and 28 July.

Full list of seedings:

North section first seeds:

Heart of Midlothian (1) St. Johnstone (2) Dundee (3) Ross County (4)

South section first seeds:

Kilmarnock (5) Motherwell (6) Hamilton Academical (7) Partick Thistle (8)

North section second seeds:

Dundee United (9) Dunfermline Athletic (10) Inverness Caledonian Thistle (11) Falkirk (12)

South section second seeds:

St. Mirren (13) Livingston (14) Queen of the South (15) Greenock Morton (16)

North section remaining clubs:

Brechin City (17) Raith Rovers (18) Alloa Athletic (19) Arbroath (20) East Fife (21) Forfar Athletic (22) Montrose (23) Peterhead (24) Stirling Albion (25) Elgin City (26) Cowdenbeath (27) Cove Rangers (28)

South section remaining clubs:

Dumbarton (29) Ayr United (30) Stranraer (31) Airdrieonians (32) Queen’s Park (33) Albion Rovers (34) Stenhousemuir (35) Clyde (36) Annan Athletic (37) Berwick Rangers (38) Edinburgh City (39) Spartans (40)